Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Is anyone else hooked on this fantastic social networking tool? – it took five minutes  playing to capture my attention! As a librarian, I love the fact that I can neatly order my interests, that I can “catalogue” them simply, and that I can add meaningful metadata to my pins. Not only that, I have beautiful photographs to make the interface very appealing …. need I go on.?

English: Red Pinterest logo

 

I can see that Pinterest could also serve library users very well. One of its major attractions is that you can instantly pin something of interest to your selected  board. So instead of having to print out a blurb, or jot down a book’s relevant details, you can simple pin it instantly to an appropriate board for future reference. There are android, iPad and iPhone apps for Pinterest as well, which suits me fine.  I often flick into it when having a coffee or in my lunch break.  Personally, if I were a student, I would find it extremely useful if I could pin material direct from the online public catalogue, and librarians will find a variety of others uses for it I am sure – take a look at this article to find out how libraries are making Pinterest work for them. Apparently, according to this article you can also use Pinterest to attract more traffic to your blog -I must peruse it in detail then!

If not using Pinterest for any kind of academic pursuit or interest, it is a brilliant recreational tool. It has allowed me to create something visually attractive and incredibly useful – I have boards for books I want to read, for recipes, places I would like to travel, favourite places and spaces and the most wonderful boards for revivalist craft like crochet, knitting and sewing. Pinterest brings together like-minded people who would never have connected previously, but who, through having something in common, become part of a wider community. It has also made me realise that there are so many fabulously talented and generous people out there who are happy to share their skills and expertise on line. I for one am grateful for that, especially since I have found expert tutorials on crochet, which I am endeavouring to pick up again after twenty years or so. There is a renewed interest in handmade goods, and it has been brilliant to be able to access personal tuition, online and free of charge…. no longer do I have the luxury of asking my Mum and women of her generation to help with handcraft pursuits because sadly they are no longer with us. Pinterest doesn’t offer that close personal contact, but it is the next best thing…

My beautiful Mum – and wonderful seamstress and knitter

Meanwhile,  Pinterest beckons…..again!

