Tags

, ,

It is great to see the library community responding to the loss of Margaret Mahy so actively and so quickly. Birkenhead Library for example – they are hosting an evening where people can bring along their favourite Margaret Mahy work and share memories. For more information see: http://www.shorelibraries.govt.nz/Whats-On/Events-Listing/Margaret-Mahy-Tribute-Evening.aspx

For my part, I bought a nice new copy of A Lion in the Meadow to keep at home for my three grandchildren… last night I read it several times to my four year old grandson and he loved it – he was initially a little bewildered by the word “meadow” but the wonderful illustrations helped explain that.  Prior to my sitting down with him for story time, he had made a pretend phone call to the police to advise them that there was “a wolf in his house”.  I can see he and Margaret will be become firm friends!