Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Hot on the heels of my previous posting, my favourite book blogger, Bookman Beattie, reviews When in Rome for readers… I lent my copy of the book to a friend as soon as I bought it, as she was in need of lift due to a stressful family illness, and after all, I was just finishing The City of Falling Angels by John Berendt. Take a look at what The Bookman has to say about Nicky Pellegrino’s novel here. He simply makes me want to read it all the more …. especially since it is set in the fifties, the decade in which I was born, and an era which I love. Mr Beattie says the book provided him with “burst of nostalgia.  Nostalgia with a Roman background” and hopefully it will do exactly the same for me – though it is only a couple of months since we were there ….

Taking a breather at the Colosseum, Rome

As for Berendt’s The City of Falling Angels? – I thoroughly enjoyed it, especially with the regard to the characters he meets.   I am about to dip into Jan Morris’s Venice, but she takes issue with Berendt’s portrayal of the city and its eccentric inhabitants. Personally, I rather enjoyed his refreshing take on the weird and whacky people he met. Morris’s review of the book in The Guardian, has deepened my curiosity regarding her take on the city I have fallen in love with, especially after I read this account of her recent visit there. I will have to start reading Venice when I am in the mood for something serious, and dip into When in Rome for pleasure!

Oh and speaking of Rome, I have two good friends who should arrive in that great city today – you can follow their blog here – it will chronicle their trip around Italy, Malta and the UK. Enjoy!

