Tags

, , ,

On Thursday night I downloaded the free taster app for Nigella’s new book Nigellissima, and from the first moment, listening to Nigella explain her love of Italian cuisine, I was hooked.  Her passion for Italy is undeniable, and quite contagious. I find her a joy to listen to – the account of her concept for book’s design and layout, and her hands-on involvement in the project, was fascinating.  Needless to say, I purchased the book yesterday. I really like the layout which is simpler than say Kitchen (which I find a bit busy when I am using it), and the photography is superb.

This evening, I prepared  the Italian Traybake– it will be my new favourite dish for an off-the-cuff dinner – SO simple, but so delicious – and it looked exactly like the photo!  I am not sure of the authenticity of the recipes, especially in view of the subtitle ‘instant Italian inspiration’, which pretty much implies these are quick and simple dishes with a hint of Italy about them – but I care not a jot!  I certainly don’t care as much as Matthew Fort, in this review in The Guardian. Many of the photos look just like the food we saw and ate on our recent trip to Italy – in particular, the vegetable dishes. I am perfectly happy if these recipes are simply Italian-inspired!  I can see the book will become a favourite in my home, and the recipes for an Italian-inspired Christmas look to be something special – I can’t wait to make the Struffoli wreath …

