Tags

, , , , ,

My previous post on Venice mentioned issues facing the city – tourism, environment and the economy. If you read my blog you will know that I fell in love with Venice in June, and because it had such an impact on me, I have continued to ponder how that beautiful city deals with the daily huge influx of tourists – people like me! If you have similar concerns, you might like to read Nick Squires recent article in the Christian Science Monitor (syndicated in other newspapers), which discusses the impact of tourism on Venice, both negative and positive, with particular reference to the cruise ship problem. Dream of Venice on Facebook, often provides excellent links to topical material such as this, so it is worthwhile “liking” it on your Facebook page.

Meanwhile I am going to indulge myself with a return to that special city via some photos taken on The Grand Canal by our wonderful travelling companions:

