Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This morning,  on a crisp walk in the winter sun with my grandson, I called into a local cafe to grab a quick latte, and went outside to wait for it. Directly beside the cafe is a lovely little bookshop, Dear Reader by name, which I have often felt drawn to as I walked by, so today, for the first time, I gave in to temptation and ventured inside – it was heaven!

The smell and the feel of the books, the diverse selection, the signage, the bright and inviting sofa (perfectly placed for a quiet and comfortable browse) –  the sheer ambience of it all was delicious! While I am very much enjoying my nannying stint, I certainly realise why I am a librarian by profession, and why I so enjoy the milieu in which I work. There is simply nothing like holding a well-crafted book in your hands, be it fiction, non-fiction, children’s literature or otherwise. Neither can you beat chatting with a passionate bookstore owner, who knows their stock so well – the lovely lady in this store even loaned me her reading glasses since I had left mine at home!

As I was on nanny duty (and waiting for coffee),  I only had a short time to browse, but the first book that caught my eye was Edward Rutherfurd’s Paris – a recent release of which I was unaware – strange for such a Francophile!  Next I moved down to the children’s section, stopping first by a lovely display of Dick Bruna‘s Miffy books  – oh how my two daughters loved Miffy, and Bruna’s other titles too – I saved their copies which have subsequently been read to my grandchildren.  It was lovely to discover too, a title we didn’t have, Miffy’s Dream ( mental note to buy this when the new baby arrives).

Since I was in my element, I couldn’t resist quickly seeking out some Maisy Mouse titles,  – my grandson’s favourite character of the moment – and was delighted when the shop owner directed me to a good-sized cache of Lucy Cousins‘ Maisy books. Of course I couldn’t resist buying one – it just had to be Maisy goes to the Library!

miffy

I shall return to this lovely neighbourhood bookshop, when I have the time to indulge myself – hopefully very soon.