Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I do so love stumbling upon things which pique my interest. Last evening, while I sat looking through our photos taken in Italy last year, the television was on in the background and I suddenly recognised familiar voices.  I looked up to see two of my favourite celebrity chefs – the delightful Antonio Carluccio and Gennaro Contaldo – the Two Greedy Italians – in a 2nd series, (2012), Two Greedy Italians : Still Hungry.   As entertaining as ever, and totally at ease with each other, they are travelling though Italy eating, cooking and providing wonderful social commentary on Italian family life and culture. It was fascinating and thoroughly watchable. The orange rice cake Gennaro was preparing in this particular episode, Calabria, looked so easy and delicious that I later searched the Internet for the recipe -and also found this great review on the accompanying book, Two Greedy Italians Eat Italy, which I couldn’t resist buying.

I am now eagerly awaiting the screening of the next episode, but in the meantime I will continue to immerse myself in the book I am currently reading, coincidentally also about Italian food, fiction though it maybe. The Food of Love Cookery School by Nicky Pellegrino is set in Sicily, and based on her research at the Love Sicily Cookery School in Modica, which you can read about here.  If you love Italy and Italian food, then reading one of Nicky’s novels will keep you engaged and wanting more. Excuse me now, I have a book to read….

