Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Well, it is May 1st today, so it ain’t long now folks  – Paris is beckoning and what a fantastic thought! In preparation I am compiling a final ‘must do’ list and already I can see we are going to run out of time. I have started assembling my list by reviewing my own posts  and the numerous notes I have taken from some of my favourite books and blogs like these:

Vicki Archer’s French Essence and her book, My French Life ; Theadora Brack’s blog, People, Places and Bling, Janelle McCulloch’s sumptuous book on Paris which is conveniently divided into arrondissements, Eurocheapo blog, and of course Rick Steve’s book, France 2014.  Janelle McCulloch’s website is a treat – check out this post for example, and her aforementioned Paris book is a visual feast.

It is obvious we will have to prioritise since we can only cram so much into four days. We want to explore Montmartre, and the Marais district, ascend The Eiffel Tour, visit The Louvre, walk in Hemingway’s footsteps, stroll in Ile Saint Louis, cruise the Seine, take in Versailles …. see what I mean? One place I will make a beeline for is Jardin du Luxembourg – I can always remember seeing a photo of my daughter in the Park with her friends, and wondered how we had managed to miss it on our first visit. Theadora makes me want to visit too – if you read this post,  you will see why.

So, what is top of my ‘to do’ list?  It has to be Montmartre, and it tops the list of my French tutor’s (Marie) recommendations too.  Marie was astonished that I not seen the movie Amelie but there is method in my madness, as I was saving the best till last!Montmartre  looks so enticing in the film, and of course there is added bonus of watching the beautiful Audrey Tatou

Well, back to collating my list now ……  so many wonderful places, so little time…. and less time for blogging before we leave, but I shall be blogging up a storm once we leave London and hit French shores on May 16 –  why not come along for the ride?

 

 

