Tags

, , , ,

This morning we took off to St Tropez – it was a fabulous morning so we expected a lovely sunny day and we surely got it. The traffic was light and we easily found a park. My first stop was a pharmacy to buy a flash compression bandage for my swollen ankle, which is now impressively bruised. We had determined to revisit the famous harbour front Senequier for coffee, so we could sit and watch wealthy owners gallivanting in their fabulous and truly over the top boats. Senequier must sell the world’s most expensive coffee at Euro8.50 per cup – but hey, we are doing as the locals do after all, and the pain aux raisin and brioche were huge and delicious!

After coffee, we split up – the boys went exploring and Frances and I went shopping. Two years ago on our previous visit to St Tropez, I found my most favourite pants – Reiko brand,  and I was hooked, so I was keen to revisit the shop and buy more. While the shop had changed hands and no longer stocked them, I found another shop which did , so another pair of Reiko jeans is now in my possession along with a lovely blouse – just the same as my last purchase here. Pressing on, we found Les Tropeziennes sandal shop – heavenly! I had searched in vain for lovely sandals in Auckland last summer – here I could have bought several, but satisfied myself with one pair.

On meeting back up with the boys we had delicious crepes for lunch on the waterfront, and then made our way back to the car, stopping first to purchase works from a couple of portside artists, as mementoes of a lovely time spent in St Tropez. After another supermarket visit, we were soon back at Etoile du Sud, relaxing by the pool in the late afternoon sun. It was beautifully warm and still – a perfect way to wind down.

We also got to meet the villa caretaker, Gill, who is very personable and knowledgeable – we know what we need to see now, and she was very understanding about the glass part of the Bodum coffee maker that my hubby managed to fling into the bushes when he was disposing of the grounds! It shall be replaced of course.

We have just had another delicious group-effort dinner after a perfect day – and there are more to follow…