Travel tips I wish I had known….

It is a bit annoying to return from a fabulous trip and then discover “tips” that would have made it even more fab!  I follow a couple of good travel blogs – one being Rick Steves of course, and the other is Eurocheapo. So here is a little aggregation of tips from Eurocheapo which may be of interest if you are going to Venice, Pisa or Paris.  Their travel writers are extremely knowledgeable, and provide a mine of useful and current information.  Bloggers Bryan Pirolli and Theadora Brack both contribute excellent material if you are going to Paris – I really enjoy Theadora’s blog and am following it in anticipation of returning to Paris sometime soon… but meanwhile here are the aforementioned tips:

And be sure not to miss the good advice in the latest posting on attractions close to major tourist sites in Paris, and Pisa , like Musee du Quai Branly near the Eiffel Tower and the Duomo beside the Leaning Tower of Pisa.  I was right beside both places and the Baptistery too,  but regretfully didn’t make time to see them.

The Baptistery, The Duomo and the Leaning Tower

Now for some tips on Venice – Monica Cesarato and Jessica Spiegel have good advice for us:

I have the Eurocheapo Widget on my home page so that I instantly see the numerous new postings. If you are traveling to Europe anytime soon, I suggest you visit the site for yourself – the information is current and helpful even if you are are not on a restricted budget.

Incidentally, Rick Steves has a nice little posting on catching the Eurostar to Paris – one of the most exciting trips I have done – going through the Chunnel was exhilarating and scary at the same time!

 A tip slightly out of left field now – if you are going to visit Positano in Italy as I hope to, it might be worth taking a look at the new Kath and Kim movie,  Kath and Kimderella  – the Italian scenes were shot in Positano, so it could be full of whacky tips (and nice scenery) for us would-be visitors!

4 thoughts on “Travel tips I wish I had known….

    1. You are welcome – thanks for the thumbs up for the photo – was in Venice in June and fell in love with the place – second only to Paris as my favourite big European city….your blog is great, keep up the good work.

      Like

    1. You are welcome Hilary – I think all too often we get swept up in the idea of having to see an iconic tourist spot at the expense of other less well know spots. I would love to have seen all three of those iconic Pisa buildings, but had a slightly intimidating experience in the Pisa carpark with some of the “umbrella sellers” which coloured my feelings about Pisa – did the obligatory tower photo and left… but I regret not having a really at all the buildings on the Field. I think it is important to share info with other as well… it is the librarian in me!

      Like

Leave a comment